The Eutaw Place Temple was built in 1892, and is located at 1307 Eutaw Place in Bolton Hill. Temple Oheb Shalom erected the unique structure after moving north from their original downtown location on Hanover Street. Established in 1853, the congregation provided an alternative to the orthodox and radical reform groups that dominated Charm City’s 19th century Jewish population. Designed by Joseph Evans Sperry, the synagogue is defined by its Byzantine style. Sperry also designed Baltimore’s Emerson Bromo-Seltzer Tower and the Brewer’s Exchange. After moving to a larger facility in 1960, Temple Oheb Shalom sold the Eutaw Place Temple to the Prince Hall Masons. The masonic group utilize and maintain the building today. The Francis Scott Key Monument stands in front of the temple.